enter image description here

In 5th row carry out is 0 then why is carry-in equal to 1 in next adder?

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ This is not for the next adder. It is for the same adder. It has 3 inputs and two outputs. So yes, carry out of one adder is going into the carry-in of the next one (for the "ripple" adder topology) \$\endgroup\$ – Eugene Sh. May 6 at 14:58
  • \$\begingroup\$ Similar but not exactly a duplicate.... What is the purpose of a “carry in”? \$\endgroup\$ – KingDuken May 6 at 15:01

You are looking at a truth table for a single full adder. The table gives the outputs (Cout and Sum) from the inputs (A, B and Cin).

  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks. I got what you are saying. \$\endgroup\$ – soham pun May 6 at 22:20

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.